Life on Two Wheels

This is a blog about life on a bicycle in the city. And not just any city: San Francisco, my current home. We’re mainly for women but welcome guys, too, since many of the topics go beyond “his” and “hers.”

To kick things off, I thought I’d share a little about me. I’ve been a bike commuter for about six years. It all started on a dreary January day in Seattle at the recommendation of a friend. At his urging (and with a little financial incentive from my employer!), I figured there was no time like the present, stocked up on rain gear, and went for it with a goal of riding three days a week. Since then I’ve changed bikes, jobs, and moved to a new city. And still my love for the bike remains.

My day job involves changing the way people think about cars, and I spend lots of time dreaming about what life in American cities could be like if we committed to bold action with a little inspiration from our friends abroad. So, don’t be surprised if we touch here and there on other topics like urban development. I promise to keep it engaging.

A bicycle is more than two wheels. It’s freedom, empowerment, healthy, cash saver, meditation, political (or not), sexy, and of course fun. If you want to get a glimpse of a city life that includes bike commuting, living small, dreaming big, discovering hidden treasures around the corner, and rolling with your own style, then this is the place for you.

Ride on!

One thought on “Life on Two Wheels

Leave a Reply

